Club Sports

Club Sports Office
Plourde Recreation Center
508-767-7469

The Assumption College Club Sports Program is a division of the Campus Recreation Office.  Each Club Sport is developed, governed and managed by its student membership through working with the Campus Recreation Administrative Staff.  The key to the success of this program and each club is student leadership, interest, involvement, and participation.

Club Sports are student organizations that have been established to promote and develop individual interest in various sports and recreational activities. Club Sports may be Instructional, Recreational, or Competitive in nature. Our Club Sports are designed to promote growth in leadership, responsibility, decision making, public relations, organization, and fiscal management. As well as specific sport related skills. All Club Sports are student run by an elected executive board.

Students in each Club are responsible for the internal organization and conduct of their Club activities. Therefore, the success and strength of the Club Sports program depends upon the initiative, motivation, and leadership of the officers and the involvement of club members. The management and organization of a Club Sport is an educational experience providing many challenges for students. Each Club Sports needs to write their constitution and by-laws, conduct of club meetings, establish dues to offset club expenditures, plan fund raising projects, coordinate practices, competition and special events, publicized club events, and working constructively with other club members to develop a successful program. No Club may restrict its membership on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, sexual orientation or disability.

DEFINITION OF A CLUB SPORT:

A Club Sports is defined as a recognized student organization, which exists to promote and develop interest in a particular sport or physical activity. A Club may be Instructional, Recreational or Competitive, or may be involved in any combination of these elements. Club Sports are strictly voluntary. The hope is that involvement in a Club Sport enhances the students’ college experience and adds value to the students’ overall education.

Club Sports provide athletic opportunities through administration by the Campus Recreation Office as a student organization. Participation can be comprised of all Co-Ed, Men's, or Women's. There are three (3) levels of Club Sports:

1. RECREATIONAL – Scheduled practice time for program instruction. Activity by group is for fun and relaxation.

2. INSTRUCTIONAL – Scheduled practice time and program instruction as student interest warrants. Tournament opportunities could be available, though not necessarily required.  Skill level can range from beginner to advance.

3. COMPETITIVE – Scheduled competitive meets with other Club Sports or sub-varsity programs with any institution, requires coach(s), establishes a regular practice schedule, and develops on-going fundraising activities through outside sources. Enhanced level of skill development, fundraising and administration.

2016-17 Club Sports Captain's List:

Sport Title Name Grad Year E-mail
Cheerleading Captain Emily Barker 2018 emily.barker@assumption.edu
Cheerleading Co-Captain Kristi McCarthy 2019 kristi.mccarthy@assumption.edu
Dance Captain Noella Teylan-Cashman 2017 noella.teylancashman@assumption.edu
Dance Co-Captain Haley McCormick 2019 haley.mccormick@assumption.edu
Equestrian Captain Sandy Isminger 2017 sandra.isminger@assumption.edu
Equestrian Captain Diana Waterman 2017 diana.waterman@assumption.edu 
Figure-Skating Captain Jacqueline Raftery 2017 jacqueline.raftery@assumption.edu
Figure-Skating Co-Captain Dorothy Rogers 2018 dorothy.rogers@assumption.edu
Latin Dance Captain Alecxandro Santos 2018 alecxandro.santos@assumption.edu
Latin Dance Co-Captain Jessica Hernandez 2019 jessica.hernandez@assumption.edu
M Basketball Captain Michael Giampietro 2017 michael.giampietro@assumption.edu
M Basketball Co-Captain Nathaniel Mensah 2018 nathaniel.mensah@assumption.edu
M Volleyball Captain Timothy Cassels 2017 timothy.cassels@assumption.edu
M Volleyball Co-Captain Ryan Durand 2017 ryan.durand@assumption.edu
Martial Arts Captain Caitlin Pierson 2018 caitlin.pierson@assumption.edu
Martial Arts Co-Captain Edward Ouano 2017 edward.ouano@assumption.edu
Outdoor Captain Alexandra Butler 2017 alexandria.butler@assumption.edu
Outdoor Co-Captain Lauren O'Connor 2017 lauren.oconnor@assumption.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Captain David Pepin 2020 david.pepin@assumption.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Co-Captain Ian Sullivan 2020 ian.sullivan@assumption.edu
W Basketball Captain Elizabeth Cloutier  2018 elizabth.cloutier@assumption.edu
W Basketball Co-Captain Caleigh Bryson 2018 caleigh.bryson@assumption.edu
W Volleyball Captain Gianna Procaccini 2017 gianna.procaccini@assumption.edu
W Volleyball Co-Captain Hannah Deegan 2018 hannah.deegan@assumption.edu